Action

St Martins Parish Council

Minutes of the Annual Meeting of the St Martins Parish Council held on Thursday 11th May 2017 at 7.00 p.m. in St Martins Community Centre, St Martins.

PRESENT: Cllr's A. Cast, G. Fryer, N. Graham, M. Hayball, B. Herbert, J. Hoos, D. Laing,

J. Lewis, G. Pennington, L. A. Roberts, J. Sands, S. Schofield and J. Stevens.

Also in attendance: CSO Pete Roberts and the Parish Clerk.

01/05/17.AM Election of Chairman

Cllr D. Laing proposed Cllr N. Graham for Chairman. This was seconded by Cllr J. Hoos.

Cllr J. Stevens proposed Cllr G. Pennington for Chairman. This was seconded by Cllr J. Lewis.

Members agreed to hold a secret ballot for this election which resulted in Cllr G. Pennington being elected by 8 votes to 4 with 1 spoilt paper.

Cllr G. Pennington then signed his declaration of Acceptance of Office.

Cllr G. Pennington then thanked Cllr's for electing him to this position and thanked Cllr S. Schofield for her past two and a half years as Chairman and raising the standards of this position and the operation of the Council.

02/05/17.AM Appointment of Vice Chairman

Cllr D. Laing proposed Cllr N. Graham for Vice-Chairman. This was seconded by Cllr B. Herbert.

Cllr M. Hayball proposed Cllr A. Cast for Vice-Chairman. This was seconded by Cllr J. Stevens.

Members agreed to hold a secret ballot for this appointment which resulted in Cllr A. Cast being appointed by 7 votes to 6.

Cllr A. Cast then signed his declaration of Acceptance of Office.

03/05/17.AM Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence had been received from Cllr's A. Allum (school attendance) and N. Mistry (poorly).

04/05/17.AM Disclosable Pecuniary Interests

Resolved: to note that no Disclosable Pecuniary interests were received on any item included on the agenda in accordance with Sections 50-52, Local Government Act 2000 and The Local Authorities (Model Code of Conduct) (England) Act 2001 and no applications for dispensations.

05/05/17.AM Appointment of Committees 2017/2018

5.1 Executive Committee (6)

(Chairman, Vice Chairman, + Cllr's N. Graham, J. Hoos, D. Laing and J. Stevens)

5.2 Finance Committee (5)

(Cllr's A. Cast, G. Fryer, J. Lewis, G. Pennington and J. Stevens)

5.3 Recreation Services Committee (6 + co-opted)

(Chairman, Vice Chairman, + Cllr's N. Graham, B. Herbert, J. Hoos and J. Stevens. Co-opted Sue Heard, Jed Machine & Shirley Willis.

5.4 Planning Committee

All members of the Parish Council.

5.5 Grievance Panel Committee (4)

(Vice Chairman + Cllr's M. Hayball, J. Hoos and D. Laing)

5.6 Disciplinary Committee (4)

(Chairman + Cllr's G. Fryer, J. Lewis and J. Sands)

5.7 Street Lighting Committee (5)

(Cllr's N. Graham, B. Herbert, J. Hoos, D. Laing & Chairman of Finance Committee).

Proposed: Cllr D. Laing **Seconded:** Cllr G. Fryer

Resolved: that the above appointments be approved.

Cllr J. Stevens agreed to amend Standing Orders to incorporate these changes.

06/05/17.AM Appointment of Representatives to Outside Bodies and Organisations 2017/2018

6.1 Area Committee SALC (2)

(Cllr's G. Pennington and S. Schofield)

6.2 Local Joint Committee LJC (1 + reserve)

(Cllr's J. Stevens + S. Schofield (reserve))

6.3 Wrekin Housing Trust Project Board (2)

(Cllr's N. Graham and M. Hayball)

6.4 Oswestry Heath Group (1)

(Cllr N. Mistry)

AM.MAY.17

Proposed: Seconded:	Cllr D. Laing Cllr J. Hoos	Action
Resolved:	that the above appointments be approved.	
There being no further business the Chairman declared the meeting closed at 19.30 p.m.		
Signed	Date	Chairman